me against time…

“Everyone thinks you make mistakes when you’re young. But I don’t think we make any fewer when we’re grown up”
― Jodi Picoult

Ahh.. in less than a week’s time, I’ll be hitting the dreaded 25 (maybe I shouldn’t be so upfront about the age) and since time seems to be slightly on my side today, I started thinking about how these 25 years have just flown by so quickly. Its feels like just yesterday that I celebrated the hallmark 21 and suddenly, 4 years have gone by – its true what they say, after 21, time seriously flies.

Amidst chasing for a branded paper, establishing a foothold in society and learning how to be a grown up, I’ve had much fun and had a taste at most things bittersweet. I’ve traveled a fair bit, I’ve got a decent dollar amount in where that is safe, I’ve done what most grown ups have for a safety net in life, I would like to think I have been integrating with society quite well and there is still lots more to be looking forward to! I’m also glad I still have the same bunch of favourite people who have been with me since 13 and certainly sure another 10-20 years wouldn’t be tough.
I think the only procrastination would be my driving license and going for my confirmation but I simply no motivation for the former and it is by no means cool. Other than that, if I can recall the popular secondary school composition exercise – “Where do you see yourself in 5/10years time”.. I don’t think I am very far off but! I think I’m going to have problems when the big three-o comes!

I wish I could get more excited about celebrating this day but all I am is worried for all my tomorrows… Wishful expectations in life seem to point towards hoping everything will fall into place but Murphy’s Law of what can go wrong will go wrong definitely never fails to impress. My 23rd year seem to be the best example thus far but you never know! Somedays I still feel like I’m not prepared to handle things like how my grandparents seem to wrinkle and shrink even more each day while my mum ages slowly too. OR, like how people around me all seem to be getting hitched! (panicking as I type this out..breathe Corrin breathe!)

So for all my tomorrows, do you have handy advice for things I should try to accomplish before I hit 30?

One thought on “me against time…

Leave a Reply

